Who We Are

SAID is a grassroots organization that was founded in 1990 by George Blue Spruce Jr., DDS, MPH along with five other American Indian Dentists. The first organizational meeting was held at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center. Their original reason for organizing was to work as a group to meet the needs of American Indian dentists, dental students, and dental auxiliaries. Over the years, the organization has grown to establish its visibility for improving both the status for American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) dentists within the overall profession of dentistry, and as an educational pathway for AI/AN students.

The primary source of support for the SAID comes from donations and annual dues.

The Society of American Indian Dentists holds annual meetings each summer. These meetings are usually held in association with a dental school and American Indian Tribes located in the vicinity of the institution.

 Board of Directors

Dr. Cristin Haase

Cristin Haase, DMD, MPH 
Cheyenne River Sioux

Dr. Adrian Sandoval

Adrian Sandoval, DDS
Navajo Nation
Vice President

Dr. Frederick Jeremy John

Frederick John, DMD
Pyramid Lake Paiute

Dr. Sarah Rodgers

 Sarah Rodgers, DMD
Quapaw Nation


Dr. Felicia Frizzell

Felicia Frizzell, DDS
Mescalero Apache
Immediate Past President

Dr. George Blue Spruce

George Blue Spruce, Jr., DDS, MPH
Pueblo (Laguna/Ohkay-Owingeh)
President Emeritus and Founder

Dr. Jessica Bremerman

Jessica Bremerman, DDS 
Yakama Nation
At-Large Board Member

Dr. Seth Brooks

Seth Brooks, DDS
Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
At-Large Board Member


sDr. Tommie Chavis

Tommie Chavis II, Student Dentist
Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina
At-Large Board Member

Dr. Jerry Snell

Jerry Snell, DDS
Cherokee Nation
At-Large Board Member


Past Presidents

  • 1990-2006—George Blue Spruce, Jr., DD.S., M.P.H., Pueblo (Laguna/Ohkay-Owingeh)

  • 2006-2011—Dave L. Smith, D.D.S. (Oneida)

  • 2011-2013—Ruth Bol, D.D.S. (Comanche)  

  • 2013-2014—Drew Preston, D.D.S. (Navajo)  

  • 2014-2017—Darlene Sorrell, D.M.D. (Navajo)  

  • 2017-2019—Winifred J. Booker, D.D.S. (Piscataway)   

  • 2019-2021—Frederick John, D.M.D. (Pyramid Lake Paiute)



 Janice Morrow

Janice Morrow
Executive Director

Mary Altenberg

Mary Altenberg
Organizational Dev Director

Vikki Driving Hawk
Conference Coordinator